The Department

Command Staff

Macmillan 3-12     

The MBTA Police Department operates under the direction of Police Chief Paul MacMillan. Chief MacMillan oversees the management, planning and direction of the Police Department.

Organizationally, the MBTA Transit Police Department is made up of the following four divisions: Patrol Operations, Homeland Security & Emergency Preparedness, Investigative Services, and Administrative Services. A Deputy Chief manages each division.


JOConnor 3-12

Superintendent-in-Chief Joseph O’Connor oversees all daily operations of the Department. The Division Commanders and the Night Commander report directly to the Superintendent-in-Chief. He assists the Chief of Police with the overall management of the Department.

Patrol Operations Division

DC Lenehan

Deputy Chief Robert Lenehan is the Commander of the Patrol Operations Division. The Patrol Operations Division is responsible for the field operations of the Department including special events, special operations, and the honor guard function. The Patrol Operations Division consists of Police Officers and Supervisors assigned to staff the patrol beats of the Department.

DC Green

Deputy Chief Kenneth Green oversees the day to day operations of the 3:30 pm and 11:30 pm shifts. He is also the Department's liasion to community partnerships. 

Investigative Services Division

DC Mahoney

The Investigative Services Division is under the direction of Deputy Chief John J. Mahoney III. The Investigative Services Division is responsible for investigating all crimes and serious accidents that occur on MBTA property and conveyances. This includes all MBTA buses, the subway system, commuter rail lines and commuter boats.